Racism…nah…

The media has been abuzz with reports of sections of the crowd at Baroda racially abusing Andrew Symonds…they taunted him with monkey chants and gestures.

It was abuse no doubt…but was it racist?? I really don’t think the crowd at Baroda understood the significance of Symonds’s aborginal origins…my guess is that there is no difference between Gilchrist and Symonds to us Indians…why would I taunt someone for his colour…when I myself am coloured..Symonds is fairer than the average Indian!!

The spectators I guess were plain irked that Symonds was performing so well and that India was getting walloped…No racism involved out here!!

Leave a Reply

