Na autokaran autokaran

For some reason KT and I were singing this song yesterday and the thought that came into my head was this is a song that glorifies the autokaran so much…and puts the typical auto wallah on this high pedestal and makes them sound like a community of good samaritans…God’s gift to humankind

I don’t drive…so no road rage for me…but auto rage…is a term I think that can be coined to describe the crazy emotions I experience when dealing with Madras auto wallahs..I’ve never known anyone who has driven me nuts than the auto wallah. They have become a law unto their own and subject unsuspecting commuters to such harrasment. For me this has become automatic…I tell them my destination, they give me the fare I’d be willing to cough up times two at least…and then my legs will automatically move ahead…so much that when on a rare occassion they ask for a reasonable amount…I walk on before I realise that I’m ok with the fare and walk back!!!

 I just fail to understand this…the standard of living is way higher in Bombay than in Madras..the traffic is much worse…on the whole I’m sure the average autowallah has it much worse in Bombay..yet the minimum fare there is Rs 11, where in Madras it has recently been hiked to Rs 14, though the reality is that you cannot get anywhere for less than Rs 20. In Bombay, if the fare amounts to Rs 29, the autowallah would insist on returning the change if you hand him Rs 30, while in my dear darling city if the charge is Rs 21, and you hand the guy Rs 30, the chances of the autowallah returning change is practically nil.

For the locals to deal with the issue is bad enough…God save non Tamil speaking people or tourists…worst affected are the foreigners…complete rip off that’s what happens to them…the whole Atithi Devo Bhava concept on which there have been ads…they can base an ad on this!!!

I am at my rudest worst in dealing with autos and have absolutely no patience for these dishonest, greedy people who I’m forced to deal with on a daily basis..the whole autowallah-police-politician nexus has made it impossible for any action to be taken against these guys..I’d rather walk / take a bus (not anymore!!!) than have to deal with these nasty bunch of people and I simply refuse to pay a paisa more than what ought to be paid (major bone of contention between KT and me…I’ve even gotten off an auto once as KT agreed to pay extra…major fights have erupted thanks to these guys!!). On the other hand when one chap asked me for lower than what I normally paid, I gave him the extra money wholeheartedly…

The only way in which I can get rid of this nuisance is to get a car and learn to drive properly..that’s why I said…get a car…get a car!!! 🙂

Sigh….

Leave a Reply

