Benazir Bhutto – RIP

benazir_bhutto_pak901.jpg

Came across this photograph minutes before reports came out that she had died. This caught my eye as it came across as a really powerful photograph…I don’t personally care for her policies or the things she did during the time she ruled. Nothing takes away that she was a brave woman..and she did not deserve to die the way she did. I dread to think of what will happen in Pakistan now, the riots, more turmoil. I am reminded of a chilling statement made by the LTTE after an assasination attempt on Chandrika Kumaratunga, “She needs to get lucky each time, we need to get lucky just once.”

I am shocked at the indifference we now exhibit to news like this, you shake your head a few times and then shrug it off and move on doing your own thing…We have become immune to the tragedies that strike the world. The alarming frequency with which they strike in Iraq, in Afghanistan, Pakistan and elsewhere in the world is giving us a thicker skin…yet another death…the world becomes a worse place to live in day by day

Benazir Bhutto, you are in a better place now.

Edited to update: This picture has now been published in practically every newspaper..it really is something..she wears this really enigmatic look and its one of her best pictures indeed. What struck me was that as I was gazing at this picture Benazir was in hospital, fighting for her life..it isย a thought that is very freaky..

5 Responses

  1. My goodness, this is a shock. I hardly know how to react.
    Shows where life is going, when I get my news via blogs. Heh.

    You are the Gooddaysunshine who just dropped by my blog, right? Googled you to get here ๐Ÿ˜›
    Will read more, in a less shocked state.

    GDS: Yes this has really shocked me..one minute I found this pic and was admiring it…then I refresh the page and I find news that she is actually dead…freaky and very upsetting. If you’re getting news through blogs..think about me, I’m doing near real time updation of my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping over…sad that the first post you had to come by was this.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. I was all happy and feeling nice after seeing a movie with S, and as I got home, S called me and asked me to see the new, pronto. My heart just broke when I heard that Benazir was shot. What is the world coming to….? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. We had gone to see I am legend. We both are Will Smith fans. Its was scary in some parts so I pretended to be all scared and held his hand..hehhhee.. ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Honey!! I wish you and your lots of love and joy for the new year…Happy new year!!

  5. Thanks, GDS! A very happy new year to you too!

Leave a Reply

