Crazy little thing called life…and love

I nearly died when I was a six month old baby.

I was supposed to move to Zambia as a five year old, visas were done, the packing had begun..then my dad fell ill and came back to India because of lack of medical facilites which caused my parents to rethink our plans.

We moved from Madras to small town in Tamil Nadu, to settle down there forever, came back to Madras because of a whole host of circumstances

I never really made up my mind about whether I should choose to opt for the Science stream or Commerce in Class 11. Was to join a new school and opted for the Science stream because its much easier to move from Science to Commerce if I wanted to. Thought I screwed up my Physics board exam and that decided it, applied for the change and got it. When the results came out and there were long lines of students begging to be admitted into the Science stream the principal asked if I wanted to move back to Science..on a whim I decided not to.

TheΒ top mostΒ thing on my mind during college careerwise was to get an MBA from on of the top B schools. Out coaching faculty picked me out as one of the bright chances and I was given extra coaching much to the annoyance of my friends, but I don’t think I screwed up any exam as much as I screwed up CAT

As part of myΒ CA back up plan I’d wanted desperately to join Arthur Anderson for my internship..only that would come anywhere close to not getting through an MBA..the unthinkable happened and the firm went bust.

Mired in a whole bunch of problems at home, I settled for the next best alternative and began plodding at my CA…asking the forces why everything was going wrong for me.

Had I died, well that would have been the end.

Had I moved to Zambia maybe life would have turned out a whole lot more different and better, all the nasty things that happened may not have.

Had I chosen to do Science like all my friends, I’d have completed my engineering and started a job by the time I had just about started my CA..

Had I gotten through CAT, well my life would have been made and I wouldn’t have suffered such a blow to my already fragile ego.

And hey what were the odds that a huge huge giant like Anderson would tank? Just like that? Well I had set my heart on it hadn’t I?

And then in that absolutely unlikely place that I had landed up in considering the turns my life could have taken I met you. Making the whole journey more than worth it.

14 Responses

  1. See there is a light at the end of every tunnel. I strongly believe that whatever happens, there is a reason behind that.

    I know πŸ™‚

  2. awwww……how cute…… πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, I feel the same so often! πŸ™‚
    Only, I end up with “It might have been better, might have been worse. All in all, I’m glad to be me and to be with you.”

    Amen!

  4. Have you watched the movie “Sliding Doors”. Watch it, its very interesting. I met my dh online back in 1995. I actually did NOT want to reply to his email but liked his name so shot off a reply. If I had pressed delete, my life would have been very different now πŸ™‚

    No I haven’t seen it..will try to get my hands on it…Jeez but yeah what if you had pressed that delete!!!

  5. hehe…always wondering about the ‘what ifs?’….

    I think that too a lot….but it always seems that in the end everything ends up being for the best…..

    Oh yes..when your riding out the storm it seems like the light at the end of the tunnel will never come..but it does!

  6. Kudos lady, I believe you’ve made it big despite the odds and have your self esteem as high as it should be. You deserve it laydie.
    Cheers!

    Thanks πŸ™‚

    And hey I saw that comment of yours on Chandni’s..you getting married soon??

  7. sigh!!!!

    cute cute cute!!!

    enjoy the feeling πŸ™‚

    Me: πŸ™‚

  8. Same here. Wanted to be a surgeon and prepared all through high school for that. Then at the last moment decided to chuck PMT and opt for electronics in B.Sc. Then ONE day, our newspaper delivery man delivered Hindustan Times instead of Times of India in which I saw an ad for MCM course from Indore university. I applied, got selected against all odds, met J on 10th day of class and rest, as they say, is history πŸ˜€

    Destiny… didn’t believe in it but it made a believer out of me.

    Yeah its amazing isnt it? Did he deliver HT just that day!! Strange stuff happens!

  9. 😦 U didnt reply to my mail…

    Oh! Havent checked it in ages….will do tonight..sorry!

  10. Ha! I hope sometime in next year πŸ™‚ if that’s soon enuf πŸ˜€ But nothing right now. Just the thought sends shivers down my spine, though I know the guy very well 😦

    Haha! I know the feeling…its not the guy or commitment phobia or anything!! Its just taking the plunge no? I resisted so much that my ma began thinking that KT and I were having issues with our relationship!

  11. Thank u. πŸ™‚

    Suggest you save it till such time I actually do it!

  12. Beautiful!

    Thanks!

  13. Awww so sweet! These things amaze me! It’s as if it was all predestined:) All the best to both of you!

    Thanks!!

  14. for most of the post, I was wondering where is the crazy little thing called love amidst CA and MBA :)…
    but I have to say both you and KT must be really lucky..

    Sheesh not for nothing am I the nerd πŸ™‚

    But thanks!!

Leave a Reply

