Of books and snobs

Us human beings love to slot. Put things, people, events into neat little compartments. Slot, label, praise, be indifferent, trash. And then regardless of individual merit, judge something based on its common label.

Which brings me to books. The elite set of people who “read” have formulated the unoffical caste system for books and reading. Classics and High Literature, The Middle Ground and Trash.

Now answer the following questions:

– Do you read Mills and Boons?

– Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?

– Do you read Chick-lit?

– Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?

– How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner

– Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon

– Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?

Be truthful and feel free to be as elaborate in your answers. Am going to make this a two part post, though I am going to type out the rest of it now itself…I promise I won’t cheat based on the responses I get and you have to promise me to give me honest answers and not what you think is the “cool” answer..

17 Responses

  1. I *heart* M’n’Bs, am a total addict.

    I don’t mind Chetan Bhagat.

    I enjoy chick lit.

    I like Gardner and Archer, haven’t read much Grisham and wasn’t too impressed by the ones I read.

    I loved Enid Blyton; read St. Clares first and then Noddy and then everything else!

    I enjoyed both Drew and Hardy Boys but not the case files junk.

  2. Do you read Mills and Boons?
    Nope..I haven’t read them

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?
    Actually I liked his first book, and not so much second one

    – Do you read Chick-lit?
    does this question apply to men as well?

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    not really..Life of a Pi was stopped in between..

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner
    Haven’t read any of them..not so much into fiction

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon
    Actually I read very less a child, all I can remember are Tom sawyer, Don Quixote…and some of Sherlock Holmes

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    not really

  3. Shhhhh!

    I’m a book snob with a secret affection for Lee Child’s “Jack Reacher” novels.

    Don’t tell anyone, okay?

  4. – Do you read Mills and Boons?

    Yes! A whole lot more than I actually have time for

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?

    He is okie.. nothing spectacular

    – Do you read Chick-lit?
    Yup.. all the time

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?

    No. I get books from the library that I need to read like the latest best sellers, highly recommended by friends n family but if it is not interesting I return it without completing it.

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner

    Went through a phase when I read only Grisham and Archer. Will not mind reading them again.
    Gardner – still love them

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon

    Eat, drank n slept Enid Blyton. I guess I started off with Enchanted stories and stuff and then moved to Famous Five

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    Oh yeah big time!

    I do agree about the unofficial caste in reading habits. Have it seen it around a lot. But I make it very clear that I read to relax and enjoy and not get worked up over it.

    These days, I read mostly before I doze off and do not devote as much time as I would love to to reading. Hence I like light reads that I can finish it over a week and stuff that do not compel me to stay up overnight to finish a book. Oh those were days!

  5. – Do you read Mills and Boons?
    no

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?
    indifferent

    – Do you read Chick-lit?
    yes

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    no

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner
    Very much!

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon
    Did read – straight to Famous Five

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    Oh yes! And what a long phase that was!

  6. – Do you read Mills and Boons?

    no

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?

    have read all 3 of his books, ok not a fan as such.

    – Do you read Chick-lit?

    have read 1 called trust me.

    Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    no

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner

    love grisham and archer.

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon

    have read famous five and one more, can’t remember the name now.

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    didn’t read much in school apart frm Charles Dickens, archies, tintin, gokulam and tinkle.

  7. Do you read Mills and Boons?
    Not anymore, but did in college.

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?
    Liked the first one, the second was crap, the third is ok ok

    – Do you read Chick-lit?
    Yes, have explored a bit, don’t enjoy them too much.

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    Nope. If I like them I read, but don’t finish if I don’t feel like.

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner
    Like all of them

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon
    Lived on enid blyton. Hated noddy, enjoyed malory towers a lot!

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    completely!

  8. -Do you read Mills and Boons?

    Used to. (Daddy woke up married is a favourite!)

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?

    Haven’t read him. Would you recommend? 😉

    – Do you read Chick-lit?

    Nope. (If I switch channels through some of the televised versions, it’s a good indication that I won’t enjoy the books.)

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?

    No. But I did pick up a couple, mainly to see what the fuss was about. (Kite Runner? Arrghhh.)

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner.

    Went through a Grisham phase. Still love Archer.

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon?

    Yes..in fact I think I’m gonna borrow a Famous Five from my library tomorrow. I started with Five, went to Secret Seven (didn’t enjoy it as much) then went backward to Noddy (loved it!).

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase

    Oh yes. ( I always wondered where it was that people didn’t have to take exams or go to college.)

  9. I didnt read M&B

    Off to google Chetan Bhagat. (hands head in shame)

    Yup, I read alot of chick lit.

    I dont think I will finish something if its a complete bore. I dont have enough hours in the day to do that. I will know by the end of the first 10 pages whether I am going to read the entire book.

    Love Grisham, Archer is okay dont know Gardner

    Love Enid Blyton. I read them. St Claire’s, Mallory Towers, The Enchanted Forest .

    Nope I didnt go through that phase.

    My 9 yr old is a big reader. She finished HP series in 3 months. She is now reading Inkheart and alot of other books. I love comparing books and finding out the ones I read at her age and giving it to her. Its so fun!

  10. – M&B- very rarely

    – Dont mind Chetan Bhagat. Have read only his first novel though.

    – I do read Chick-lit and like many of them

    – Have tried to do that on a few ocassions. But have failed to go beyond the first few pages.

    -Love all three of them- John Grisham, Archer and Gardener

    – Read loads of Enid Blyton as a child. As far as I can remember, I started of with Famous Five/ Malory Towers. Didnt read too much of Noddy.
    – Absolutely lapped up Nancy Drew/ Hardy Boys. Read all the books on these three and even read the Case Files.

  11. Do you read Mills and Boons? Read a couple of them many years ago. havent since.

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat? read his first two. didnt like either.

    – Do you read Chick-lit? sure 🙂 not a big fan…but good for journey reading.

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    Nah. If its boring…i wont read it.

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner.
    Like Grisham.. Archer..not so much. Dont know Gardner.

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon.
    Yup!! big enid blyton fan. had only one noddy book. but have devoured a lottt of famous five and mallory towers and enchanted tree series.

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    Nancy drew…yes. Hardy boys..nope. The nuns at school used to frown upon those of us who read nancy drew. not that it mattered 🙂

    May I add that i was and still am an avid reader of chandamama and champak, tinkle and the likes.

    waiting to see what u come up with in ur post 🙂

  12. Do you read Mills and Boons?
    No

    Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?
    Hate, with a capital H.

    Do you read Chick-lit?
    Not much but yeah.

    Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    Nah, I try to finish everything I start. But if it’s too much, I drop it.

    How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner
    I like Grisham and Archer.

    Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon
    I swore by her.

    Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    Oh yes … I even went throught the Nancy Drew and Hard Boys combine phase.

  13. Except for Hardy Boys, I’ve read and enjoyed pretty much everything in your list. Enid Blyton is the all-time favorite though.

    And since you said I should feel free to elaborate – here’s an entire post I wrote about a year back on the EXACT same topic! 🙂

    http://jottingsnmusings.wordpress.com/2007/09/09/kitabon-mein/

  14. Good lord, I really AM a snob! Except for the Enid Blyton bit, although yes, I did jump directly onto the FF/MT bandwagon.
    Eeps. 😳

  15. – Do you read Mills and Boons?
    Have read only one, got bored. didn’t read any more.

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?
    I liked only 5 point someone but I somehow like Chetan Bhagat, don’t hate him as such.

    – Do you read Chick-lit?
    nope

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    No. I read books because I am recommended to them or I want to read them.

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner
    Dunno havent read.

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon
    Nope 😦 sad childhood is it?

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    No

    One question from my end:
    Do I even qualify as a reader or does my feedback even count??

    Hope you remember me!
    Lively 🙂

  16. Do you read Mills and Boons?
    yes… on and off…more off than on tho..

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?
    nvr read him.. a cousin read his book and told me she wasnt very impressed..so i nvr made the effort to read any of his books!

    – Do you read Chick-lit?
    nope

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    naaah!

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner
    hvnt read gardner but the other two i like.

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon?
    enid blyton was The Most Favourite Author. read noddy, famous five, secret seven…all of those…

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase?
    yeah…dint everybody?:P

  17. Do you read Mills and Boons?
    Nope. never. Judged them all by the sorry covers.

    – Do you like / hate Chetan Bhagat?
    Liked five point someone. didnt like One night at call centre. I can like/ dislike his books. Can’t hate a person who ditched an investment banking career for writing 🙂

    – Do you read Chick-lit?
    Yup. But can’t read too many in a year. It’s a gentle break from thougtful reading.

    – Have you finished books because it is cool to read them and your “portfolio is incomplete” if you haven’t even though you could barely sit through the damn bore?
    I tried reading God of small things ages back. left it after page 20 and havent felt the inclination to pick it up again.

    – How do you like authors like John Grisham, Jefferey Archer, Erle Stanley Gardner
    Yes yes yes.

    – Did you read Enid Blyton as a child? Did you start off with Noddy or did you jump on the Famous Five / Malory Towes bandwagon?
    Yes. of course. Noddy-only a couple of books. My favorite was the Faraway Tree series- Moonface, dame washalot- all iconic characters 🙂 and oh..a new land every 2 weeks….what fun! Loved Malory Towers and the gorgeous descriptions of the midnight feasts.

    – Did you go through the Nancy Drew / Hardy Boy phase? nancy drew yes. Hardy Boys-never!

    **** I know this is a rather late comment-but my first time here- hopped on to this place from Chandni’s 🙂

Leave a Reply

