To the person who will never read this

Its funny to say it this way but if at all there is one person who can take credit for what I am today, its you.

I’ve never said that to you before and perhaps I never will say it the way I mean it. I’ve said it brusquely, very matter of fact. But I guess I’ve hugged you tight, held you close and hopefully that has conveyed the way I feel about you.

You’re one of the strongest people I know, you have kept me anchored, steadily guiding me. This is one of the few songs that I used to strum on the guitar and sing. Often with you. But now I can barely sing it. I tear up a few lines into it!! But yeah we can always do Edelweiss and Top of the World..

I think back at the times we’ve been through, the times we’ve despaired, you and I were always a team. (Yeah I will let the run-up to my wedding pass, put it down to temporary insanity on your part!) We still go through so many emotional upheavals, you try to insulate me from all of it, but it always shows through! Its so funny, the way I try to protect you and you try to protect me..from the same thing!

Shine on ma. You’re the bestest ma in the whole wide world.  Happy birthday and Happy Teachers Day. Love you.

(This was probably the most incoherent post I’ve written. But I’m rather overcome emotionally and that has clearly not fuelled my writing! Part II of the book post will come up soon!)

10 Responses

  1. :hug:
    She knows 🙂

  2. Thats the Mom Magic!

  3. she doesnt read your blog?

  4. what a lovely post.

    happy birthday to her!

  5. A very happy birthday to the someone, who’ll hopefully read this touching post. 🙂

  6. beautiful!! 🙂

  7. Happy Birthday to her…and I am sure she feels as lucky to have a wonderful daughter like you…

  8. Thank you everyone!

    @ Priti: Thanks for delurking!

    @ MM: No she doesn’t. Haven’t told her about it. Its funny because I do tell her practically everything that I write here…its not like I have secrets from her. But still..

  9. heartfelt post:)

Leave a Reply

