More random

Ok that’s it. My fears have come true. I have completely lost the ability to write long winded posts with all my arguments. I start off full steam, totally irked by something and then something happens to divert me and I lose interest. So till such time I’m able to its back to random stuff:

I had the best Diwali in years..coming as it did in the form of a long weekend, Diwali eve dinner at the inlaws’ place, Diwali lunch at my parents’ and we had our very first guests on Diwali night. The dinner went off well though it had the potential to be a huge disaster. Lesson learnt – Never invite friends over on a festival day. First up none of the veggie shops were open and we were roaming around in the hot 1 pm sun (yeah the rains have stopped) on foot trying to locate one. Having woken up before dawn that day I was so exhausted that I had to squeeze in some sleep before starting to cook, I’d figured that if I started to cook at around 3 30, I’d manage to be done by 6 30 ish which would leave me time to get dressed, straighten out the house and light the diyas. And I slept and slept and slept till 5 40. Woke up in blind panic wondering if we could order in food to find that a house elf had been at work while I slept and all the veggies were cut and ready. So I basically had to just make the pulao, the paneer, the rotis and the raita. And we managed just fine!

*********************************************************************************************

I think for the first time post our wedding more than a year ago KT and I went out without an agenda, without “The List”, without a hundred things to tick off. And where did we head? To Landmark. And there was the remnants of the sale that had happened and we found some pretty neat bargains..lovely classics for Rs 120 each, 15% off on The Enchantress of Florence, a set of 10 Wodehouse books for Rs 860, a lovely illustrated book on Friends (the show that is) with interviews and rare photographs and insights for just Rs 400. It was a book buying orgy alright as my brother eloquently puts it!

*********************************************************************************************

I think John Abraham looks so hot in the promos of Dostana…Abhishek is very blah and Priyanka Chopra looks and dances badly in Desi Girl. Does any body else share my opinion on Priyanka Chopra? I think she completely lacks grace and theย way she wears her sari doesnt help one bit, with one boob popping out carefully all the time. And her hair looks horrendous..almost like straw! No I have nothing against her..I loved her in Aaj Ki Rat (Don), but this song..no way!

*********************************************************************************************

Do you read Aamir’s blog? I just love it. And the guy. And his Tata Sky ad with Gul Panag (Not the half man woman thing. That I hate.)

*********************************************************************************************

Bomb blasts again in the country. Now in Assam. Why cannot we do anything about this? If a 9/11 happened, strict action was taken. If a 7/7 happened, again it was dealt with with an iron hand. Now we don’t even remember dates in India. Where are we going wrong? Why can’t we stop the madness. And surprise surprise, now we have Hindu terrorists. Now that can’t happen can it? That was the exclusive domain of them Muslims. This is surely a government conspiracy. Minority appeasement. Yes I heard this somewhere.

*********************************************************************************************

I’m a South Indian and hence we do not have the practice of fasting on Karwa Chauth. If we did however I would have refused to do it on grounds of not believing in the tradition blah blah. But within a week of the festival I went without food the whole day. Not waiting for the moon to make an appearance but for a report to be finished at work. Nowadays good metrosexual husbands also fast along with their wives. But my colleague who was working with me went ahead and had lunch. And gave me this gem.

Me (at around 7 when the report was getting printed by my colleague D): Call me on my mobile if you need anything. I’m going to grab a bite, havent had my lunch.

D: Oh I’m so sorry

Me: Why are you sorry?

D: Because I ate!!

And with that idiotic story I leave you guys. Have a nice weekend!

3 Responses

  1. Happy Diwali (belated :-)) and i thought i was the only one who thought PC was fake in the desi girl song!

    Thanks! Happy Diwali to you and the Imp! And yay for support on PC!!

    the blasts are totally political, or our intelligence agencies are incompetent!

  2. So ur thalai Deepawali was bad eh ? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Oh it wasnt thalai…that’s done! And did I give you the impression that it was bad? Go read again!!

    My collegue interviewed Priyanka today and I was seeing the rushes a couple of hrs back… She was dressed in neat red skirt. *rendu kannu pathadu* Most actresses wear saree like that only no?

    I agree that most actresses wear the sari in that fashion, but in an item song maybe? This wasnt even one..and a chiffony sari staying the way it did is impossible! Like Shilpa Shetty’s in that OSO song…you show off your toned abs..where a bikini..whatever…but somehow it irks me when a sari that can lend so much grace to a person is worn like this!

    u visit Spencer Landmark ?

    My favourite remains the Nungambakkam one, it holds memories from so long back for me, the way I used to go there on shoe string budgets, weighing the options carefully and selecting one or two books..when I was in Class 4 and 5 and stuff…much unlike today when I enter the shop and pick up two baskets, one for K and one for me to fill up!

    Yeh Aamir’s blog is interesting.. and did u watch the Gajini teaser?? I guess this will have more “class” than the Tamil version. Ravi K Chandran’s camera and Rahman’s music should bang on!!!!

    I just watched it on your blog ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I have stopped reacting to these blasts…do I sound insensitive?

    Nah don’t think so the frequency with which they are happening is so alarming, and you shake your head, make appropriate noises and move on with life…

    I knw a few couples who fasted together ๐Ÿ™‚

    lol at the little story ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I understood this wasnt ur thalai deepawali ๐Ÿ™‚ and this is ur 2nd. since u said this was ur best Diwali in years, I wondered if ur thalai was bad! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Whoopsie..sorry. No the thalai wasnt bad..it was spent at my parents’..so it can’t have been bad ๐Ÿ˜‰
    But this one was more fun!

Leave a Reply

