Hell the nuns were right!

I went to a college run by nuns. Now that meant very strict rules. No short tops, no sleeveless clothes, no tight pants, no capris even. They’d have been happy if we landed up in college wearing a salvar kameez set with the dupatta pinned up.

And it goes without saying that there were people flouting the rules and the nuns would patrol the campus, “catch” girls in objectionable clothes and send them back home to change and come back. Essentially they played party pooper.

So yesterday I finally saw merit in their argument. So here’s why you must not wear short stuff. The heroine of the story is moi, who finally sits down to cook dinner after many days. I was a little rusty about my “processes” and went on to take the hot pressure cooker and place it on the counter. I then busied myself with the vegetable I was making and reached out to the shelf about the counter to get the salt. And then I felt a stab of pain and I shrank back, not knowing what hit me. Thanks to my short top which rode up when I reached for the salt, my stomach came in contact with the cooker and I got a nice red burn on my poor tummy.

So yeah either I need to follow the nun dictat or not lose touch with cooking (I dont think I ever put hot stuff where I did!). Sigh!

7 Responses

  1. hehhe I am sure your teachers would have said ..I told you sooo πŸ™‚

    Yeah yeah…but I’m going to fish out my apron now!

  2. oh u poor baby!

    I know, but it at least provided fodder for the blog and extra hugs from the boy!

  3. Shame shame! Now go drape yourself head to toe in 6 yards and see how it protects you from everything.
    πŸ˜€

    See the problem with six yards is that the stomach is largely exposed no? Plus too much flowing material can catch fire! So wrong answer!

  4. Take care! πŸ™‚

    Hello! Welcome here and thanks!

  5. haha i hope u feel better soon. if i were to start writing about my mishaps in the kitchen, i’d only be writing about that. πŸ˜€

    Nah its fine I have a nice red mark just to garner a few extra hugs! And welcome Roop..I have to say I love your blogs..just don’t know why I’ve never delurked!

  6. πŸ™‚ Hope you are feeling better now.

  7. my god, I didn’t realise there were people as silly as me. i have done the same, though it was not a cooker

Leave a Reply

